All  

Suggested Books

Here is a list of suggested books. Click on the title to see a book description or click on the book to get it from Amazon. You are welcome to review any of the books listed. This page is updated regularly.

Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 00:21

Author(s):
Peter Stark

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast....Read more

Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 00:20

Author(s):
Joseph Campbell

What is a properly functioning mythology and what are its functions? Can we use myths to help relieve our modern anxiety, or do they help foster it? In Myths to Live by, Joseph Campbell explores the enduring power of the universal myths...Read more

Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 00:19

Author(s):
Huston Smith

Retaining all the beloved qualities of Huston Smith's classic The Religions of Man and the current fully revised and updated The World's Religions, this stunning pictorial presentation refines the text to its wonderful essentials. In...Read more

Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 00:18

Author(s):
J.F. Bierlein

This book is an excellent introduction to the novice in the field of cultural anthropology and frankly should be required reading for college freshmen who aspire to a well rounded liberal arts education. The author has taken several...Read more

Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 00:11

Author(s):
Wade Davis

The story of two generations of scientific explorers in South America—Richard Evans Schultes and his protégé Wade Davis—an epic tale of adventure and a compelling work of natural history.

In 1941, Professor Richard Evan...Read more

Friday, March 27, 2020 - 23:47

Author(s):
Enrico Baccarini, Graham Hancock

An astonishing book that will lead to rewrite the history of mankind. An unexplored world, a journey beyond the boundaries of human history. From over five thousand years India and Pakistan seem to guard jealously a forgotten past, a...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 23:32

Author(s):
Roger Stalley

The early middle ages were an exciting period in the history of European architecture, culminating in the development of the Romanesque style. Major architectural innovations were made during this time including the medieval castle, the...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 23:31

Author(s):
Roberto Volterri, Bruno Ferrante

Magic Doors? Alchemical Doors? Mystical Doors? Interdimensional doors?

Italy, here and there hides testimonies from a distant past, testimonies that lead back to an era - for another always current ... - in which Man has tried to...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 23:27

Author(s):
John R. Hale

The navy created by the people of Athens in ancient Greece was one of the finest fighting forces in the history of the world and the model for all other national navies to come. The Athenian navy built a civilization, empowered the world...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 23:26

Author(s):
Felice Vinci

Compelling evidence that the events of Homer's Iliad and Odyssey took place in the Baltic and not the Mediterranean

  • Reveals how a climate change forced the migration of a people and their myth to ancient Greece
  • ...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 17:42

Author(s):
Christine Desdemaines-Hugon, Ian Tattersall

“The next best thing to actually seeing the prehistoric cave art of southern France . . . A rapturous guide through five major Ice Age sites” (Archaeology).

The cave art of France’s Dordogne region is world-famous for the mythology...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 17:35

Author(s):
Frances Gies, Joseph Gies

From acclaimed historians Frances and Joseph Gies comes the reissue of their classic book on day-to-day life in medieval cities, which was a source for George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Evoking every aspect of city life...Read more

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 17:32

Author(s):
Bart D. Ehrman

A New York Times bestselling historian of early Christianity takes on two of the most gripping questions of human existence: where did the ideas of heaven and hell come from, and why do they endure?

What happens when we die? A...Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:56

Author(s):
Gareth Williams (Editor), ‎ Peter Pentz (Editor), ‎ Matthias Wemhoff (Editor), ‎ Her Majesty Queen Margrethe of Denmark (Foreword)

In the ninth and tenth centuries, the Vikings created a cultural network that spanned four continents: from the Caspian Sea to the North Atlantic and from the Arctic Circle to the Mediterranean. The Viking Age was a period of major...Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:56

Author(s):
Brien Foerster

Perhaps the most intriguing of ancient Egypt's rulers, Akhenaten is in many ways also the most mysterious. Loved by those that followed him, and his wife Nefertiti, he was hated by the Amun priesthood, who before and during his childhood...Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:55

Author(s):
Valerie Hansen

The Silk Road is as iconic in world history as the Colossus of Rhodes or the Suez Canal. But what was it, exactly? It conjures up a hazy image of a caravan of camels laden with silk on a dusty desert track, reaching from China to Rome....Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:51

Author(s):
Jim Storr

‘King Arthur’s Wars’ describes one of the biggest archaeological finds of our times; yet there is nothing new to see. There are secrets hidden in plain sight. We speak English today, because the Anglo-Saxons took over most of post-Roman...Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:48

Author(s):
Dale Hansen

Tales are often told marking the Vikings as no more than simple horn-helmeted explorers, infamous to abuse, pillage and plunder all that stood in their way. However, many of us lack to see the parallels aligned with modern culture, and...Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:46

Author(s):
DK

How did we develop from simple animals inhabiting small pockets of forest in Africa to the dominant species on Earth? Traveling back almost eight million years to our earliest primate relatives, Evolution: The Human Story charts the...Read more

Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 15:44

Faith, Trust, & Belief

Author(s):
Jim Willis

With the world changing so rapidly in the 21st century, what is there left to believe in?  Do traditional religions, science and philosophy still have anything left to offer - something that promises measurable hope?  Are the words "...Read more

Pages