Iraq Banner Desktop

Store Banner Mobile

The 12 Olympian Gods

The 12 Olympian gods were the main deities of Ancient Greece. They lived on Mount Olympus, the highest mountain in Greece, and were thought to control the weather, natural disasters, and human destiny.
The most important Olympian gods were Zeus, Poseidon, Hades, Demeter, Aphrodite, Hera, and Apollo. They are often referred to as the " Seven Gods of Olympus."
Zeus was the king of the 12 Olympian gods and the god of thunder and lightning. He was also the god of law, order, and justice. Poseidon was the god of the sea and earthquakes. Hades was the god of the underworld. Demeter was the goddess of agriculture and fertility. Aphrodite was the goddess of love and beauty. Hera was the queen of the 12 Olympian gods and the goddess of marriage and childbirth. Apollo was the god of music, poetry, and healing.
The other Olympian gods were Ares, the god of war; Athena, the goddess of wisdom and warfare; Hermes, the messenger god; Hestia, the goddess of the hearth and home; and Dionysus, the god of wine.

AI representation of Greek God Dionysus.

Dionysus, the Mysterious Greek God of Wine and Ecstasy

In the realm of ancient gods and goddesses, few held such an esteemed place in history as Dionysus. This vibrant and multifaceted deity of ancient Greek mythology embodies the essence of wine,...
A variety of artifacts from the newly found temple at the Paestum Velia archaeological park. Source: Paestum Velia Archaeological Park

Trove of Ancient Artifacts Discovered in Paestum Include Dolphin Statuette of Eros

Archaeological excavations in southern Italy have yielded a treasure trove of Greek artifacts from the ancient city of Paestum. Located on the famed Amalfi coast close to Pompeii , a ‘significant’...
Zeus, Greek god of Mount Olympus, Source: matiasdelcarmine / Adobe Stock

The Greek God Zeus: The Insatiable Womanizer of Mount Olympus

“Then Zeus no longer held back his might; but straight his heart was filled with fury and he showed forth all his strength. From Heaven and from Olympus he came forthwith, hurling his lightning: the...
Aphrodite in the forge of the god Hephaestus. 1610 painting by Bartholomeus Spranger entitled “Venus in Vulcan’s Forge.” Source: Public domain

How Did Greek God Hephaestus Score the Goddess of Love?

As one of the twelve Olympians, the god Hephaestus was a major deity for the ancient Greeks. In Greek mythology, Hephaestus was primarily the god of fire and smiths, but he was also in charge of...
Hestia, the Greek goddess of the hearth and home, holding the flame of life. Source: matiasdelcarmine / Adobe Stock

Hestia: Greek Goddess of the Hearth and Home

A woman stands next to a large flame, with a staff in one hand and tending to the fire with the other. This is Hestia, the Greek goddess of the hearth, home, and family. Her name literally means “...
Athena, Goddess of Wisdom. Source: Геннадий Кучин / Adobe Stock

Athena: Fiercely Feminine Goddess of War and Wisdom

Of all the Olympian gods and goddesses, Athena was arguably one of the most fascinating. The goddess of war, wisdom, and crafts, Athena was known for her many passions and abilities that made her...
Poseidon: The Powerful Greek Sea God Who Created the Minotaur

Poseidon: Greek God of the Sea Who Created the Minotaur

Remembered today as the God of the Sea, Poseidon is one of the most well-known Greek gods. Whilst he is immortalized in myths as a violent and hot-headed god who would brew up a raging sea, the story...
Ares, God of war in ancient Greece.

The Power of Ares: Greek God of War, Lust, and Protection

Ares is one of the most popular gods of the Greek pantheon. He is also one of the earliest documented deities, known from the texts much older than the Iliad. This deity is primarily known as a...
Unravelling the Roots of Hera, the Wrathful Goddess of Marriage

Unravelling the Roots of Hera, the Wrathful Goddess of Marriage

Hera, also known by her Latin title as Juno, is best known in Western culture as the wife of Zeus, king of the gods. While technically subordinate to him, Hera is never a submissive figure, in fact...
Hades, god of the underworld and Cerberus, his dog. (rudall30 / Adobe Stock)

Hades, God of the Underworld and His Unsung Powers

In Greek mythology , Hades was the god of the dead and the ruler of the Underworld. Thus, he was an important god in the Greek pantheon . Nevertheless, he is not considered to be a member of the...
Origins of Aphrodite

Aphrodite: The True Origins of the Greek Goddess of Love, Sex, and Beauty

Aphrodite is the Greek goddess of love, sex, and beauty and there are many tales of how she could entice both gods and mortals to lust after her. In one of the most famous images of the goddess, we...
Hermes, messenger of the gods (Atelier Sommerland / Adobe Stock)

Hermes: Messenger of the Gods and Patron of Traders, Travelers, and Thieves

Hermes was an important god in the Greek pantheon and one of the Twelve Olympians . He is best known for being the herald or messenger of the gods and is portrayed in many myths as such. In addition...
The Greek god Apollo slaying the giant serpent, ‘Python’      Source:   Choo Yut Shing / CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

The Greek God Apollo and His Mystical Powers

Apollo was a Greek god, and one of the Twelve Olympians . He was one of the most important gods in the Greek pantheon, and was believed to have jurisdiction over a range of different aspects,...