Suggested Books

Suggested Books

Here is a list of suggested books. Click on the title to see a book description or click on the book to get it from Amazon. You are welcome to review any of the books listed. This page is updated regularly.

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:27

Author(s):
Rodney Stark

It always seems counterintuitive to moderns that warfare and religion can be consistent. Ideally, followers of the prince of peace are to avoid the sword and shield. Clearly, this has not always been the case. Frequently in the...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:22

Author(s):
Edred Thorsson

Runes are the ancient Norse alphabet used for communication, divination, and magical work. In Futhark, American runologist Edred Thorsson introduces readers to the 24 runes of the Elder Futhark, their definitions, and mystic properties...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:18

Author(s):
Benjamin Madley

Between 1846 and 1873, California’s Indian population plunged from perhaps 150,000 to 30,000. Benjamin Madley is the first historian to uncover the full extent of the slaughter, the involvement of state and federal officials, the...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:14

Author(s):
Jim Willis

Where do we come from? What are the origins of modern civilization? Do the world's pyramids, the Nazca Lines, Easter Island statues, and other enigmatic structures, archaeological wonders, and geographic anomalies contain evidence of...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 04:18

Author(s):
Anthony Adolph

Just who did the British think they were? For much of the last 1,500 years, when the British looked back to their origins they saw the looming mythological figure of Brutus of Troy. A great-great-grandson of the love goddess Aphrodite...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:15

Author(s):
Russell M. Stendal

The Book of Daniel is a study, a commentary of the book of Daniel in the Bible. Each verse and each sentence is dissected to unveil great prophesies which are coming to fruition today. It cannot be over-emphasized how relevant this book...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:14

Author(s):
Huston Smith

Retaining all the beloved qualities of Huston Smith's classic The Religions of Man and the current fully revised and updated The World's Religions, this stunning pictorial presentation refines the text to its wonderful essentials. In...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:13

Author(s):
Louis S. Warren

In 1890, on Indian reservations across the West, followers of a new religion danced in circles until they collapsed into trances. In an attempt to suppress this new faith, the US Army killed over two hundred Lakota Sioux at Wounded Knee...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:12

Author(s):
Peter Stark

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast....Read more

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 01:13

Author(s):
Genevieve von Petzinger

“If you love mysteries, you’ll love this book. Genevieve von Petzinger acts as guide and sleuth in this fascinating, accessible, and fast-paced exploration of Ice Age artists and the evocative cave paintings they left behind” (Virginia...Read more

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 01:12

Author(s):
Francis S. Collins

An instant bestseller, The Language of God provides the best argument for the integration of faith and logic since C.S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity.

It has long been believed that science and faith cannot mingle. Faith rejects...Read more

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 01:11

Author(s):
Jean Manco

From prehistory to the present day, an unrivaled look deep into the contentious origins of the Celts

Blood of the Celts brings together genetic, archaeological, and linguistic evidence to address the often-debated question:...Read more

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 01:10

Author(s):
Mark Hitchcock

What's Next for the Middle East...and How Will It Affect Us?

Iran has repeatedly declared its intention to destroy Israel. ISIS continues to gain ground, leaving a trail of death and terror in its wake. And Russia is inserting...Read more

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 01:07

Author(s):
Gary A David

Many readers are familiar with the correlation between the pyramids of Egypt and the stars of Orion. Beginning in 1100 AD on the Arizona desert, the Hopi constructed a similar pattern of villages that mirrors all the major stars in the...Read more

Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 01:05

Author(s):
John C. Lennox

The Grand Design', by eminent scientist Stephen Hawking, is the latest blockbusting contribution to the so-called New Atheist debate, and claims that the laws of physics themselves brought the universe into being, rather than God. In...Read more

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 23:35

Author(s):
Tony Allan, Charles Phillips, Michael Kerrigan, Duncan Baird Publishers

Wise Lord of the Sky traces the growth of the rich world of Persian myth, from its roots in Assyro-Babylonian and Aryan belief, to the complex system that eventually emerged. Covers the early worship of archaic gods, the fire cults, the...Read more

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 23:34

Author(s):
Judy Allen

Even with today's high-tech science, many events and ancient mysteries remain unexplained and surrounded by theories that stir the imagination and challenge scientific fact. This book systematically explores all aspects of the human...Read more

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 23:33

Author(s):
Marjorie T. Johnson, Simon Young

Its accounts of fairy experiences, mostly from the twentieth century, have come from business men and women, housewives, journalists, clergymen, bus drivers, anglers, gypsies, school teachers, university professors, soldiers, artists,...Read more

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 23:31

Author(s):
Edward C. Whitmont, Sylvia Brinton Perera

Natural and necessary expressions of the life force, dreams provide access into unconscious areas of life. They give specific and appropriately timed messages which can assist the dreamer with problem solving, artistic inspiration,...Read more

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 23:29

Author(s):
Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism

The Book of Symbols combines original and incisive essays about particular symbols with representative images from all parts of the world and all eras of history. The highly readable texts and over 800 beautiful full-color images come...Read more

Pages

Top New Stories

Collection of Egyptian Art, design by Anand Balaji
The oft-repeated phrase “the Amarna era is shrouded in mystery” could be a thing of the past if only closer scrutiny of key artifacts from Tutankhamun’s tomb are permitted by the authorities concerned. Courtesy reuse and usurpation, the cleverly disguised inscriptions can yield a wealth of information on the political and religious upheaval of that period, and enable us to peer through the mists of time to gain accurate insights into one of Egypt’s most puzzling epochs. Among the plethora of KV62 mysteries, a modern one exists in the form of Tutankhamun’s missing skullcap.

Myths & Legends

Ivar the Boneless as portrayed in the History Channel Series ‘
One would expect "boneless" to describe a man without a lick of bravery. Or perhaps a man without a shred of compassion in a heart of ice. Yet in the case of the infamous Ivar the Boneless, son of the renowned Ragnar Lodbrok, "boneless" means precisely what it sounds like: a man lacking sturdy bones, but not power.

Ancient Places

El Caracol Observatory at Chichen Itza (Wright Reading/CC BY-NC 2.0) and Composite 3D laser scan image of El Caracol from above
In 1526, the Spanish conquistador Francisco de Montejo arrived on the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico and found most of the great Maya cities deeply eroded and unoccupied. Many generations removed from the master builders, engineers, and scientists who conceived and built the cities, the remaining Maya they encountered had degenerated into waring groups who practiced blood rituals and human sacrifice.

Opinion

El Caracol Observatory at Chichen Itza (Wright Reading/CC BY-NC 2.0) and Composite 3D laser scan image of El Caracol from above
In 1526, the Spanish conquistador Francisco de Montejo arrived on the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico and found most of the great Maya cities deeply eroded and unoccupied. Many generations removed from the master builders, engineers, and scientists who conceived and built the cities, the remaining Maya they encountered had degenerated into waring groups who practiced blood rituals and human sacrifice.

Our Mission

At Ancient Origins, we believe that one of the most important fields of knowledge we can pursue as human beings is our beginnings. And while some people may seem content with the story as it stands, our view is that there exists countless mysteries, scientific anomalies and surprising artifacts that have yet to be discovered and explained.

The goal of Ancient Origins is to highlight recent archaeological discoveries, peer-reviewed academic research and evidence, as well as offering alternative viewpoints and explanations of science, archaeology, mythology, religion and history around the globe.

We’re the only Pop Archaeology site combining scientific research with out-of-the-box perspectives.

By bringing together top experts and authors, this archaeology website explores lost civilizations, examines sacred writings, tours ancient places, investigates ancient discoveries and questions mysterious happenings. Our open community is dedicated to digging into the origins of our species on planet earth, and question wherever the discoveries might take us. We seek to retell the story of our beginnings. 

Ancient Image Galleries

View from the Castle Gate (Burgtor). (Public Domain)
Door surrounded by roots of Tetrameles nudiflora in the Khmer temple of Ta Phrom, Angkor temple complex, located today in Cambodia. (CC BY-SA 3.0)
Cable car in the Xihai (West Sea) Grand Canyon (CC BY-SA 4.0)