Suggested Books

Suggested Books

Here is a list of suggested books. Click on the title to see a book description or click on the book to get it from Amazon. You are welcome to review any of the books listed. This page is updated regularly.

Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 02:27

Author(s):
George G M James

The term Greek philosophy, to begin with a misnomer, for there is no such philosophy in existence. The ancient Egyptians had developed a very complex religious system, called the Mysteries, which was also the first system of salvation....Read more

Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 02:26

Author(s):
Douglas Preston

Since the days of conquistador Hernán Cortés, rumors have circulated about a lost city of immense wealth hidden somewhere in the Honduran interior, called the White City or the Lost City of the Monkey God. Indigenous tribes speak of...Read more

Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 02:25

Author(s):
Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz

The first history of the United States told from the perspective of indigenous peoples
 
Today in the United States, there are more than five hundred federally recognized Indigenous nations comprising nearly three million...Read more

Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 02:23

Author(s):
Thomas Mills

Thomas O. Mills befriended author Frank Waters, who in 1963 had written The Book of the Hopi with his Hopi informant Oswald White Bear Fredericks. Their book included the Hopi Creation Story. Mills listened, read and began to draw his...Read more

Saturday, June 3, 2017 - 00:57

Author(s):
Elyn Aviva, Gary White

Powerful Places in Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly is not your usual guidebook. It is not about visiting places-it's about experiencing them. This tiny corner of Britain contains an amazingly dense concentration of sacred sites and...Read more

Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 02:21

Author(s):
Ardy Sixkiller Clarke

Dr. Ardy Sixkiller Clarke, author of Encounters With Star People, vowed as a teenager to follow in the footsteps of two 19th-century explorers, John L. Stephens and Frederick Catherwood, who brought the ancient Maya cities to the world's...Read more

Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 02:20

Author(s):
Dimitra Papagianni, Michael A. Morse

In recent years, the common perception of the Neanderthals has been transformed, thanks to new discoveries and paradigm-shattering scientific innovations. It turns out that the Neanderthals’ behavior was surprisingly modern: they buried...Read more

Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 02:19

Author(s):
Timothy Ferris

From the second-century celestial models of Ptolemy to modern-day research institutes and quantum theory, this classic book offers a breathtaking tour of astronomy and the brilliant, eccentric personalities who have shaped it. From the...Read more

Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 02:18

Author(s):
Brenda Rosen

Some of the most extraordinary ancient cities that have been abandoned, forgotten, or hidden by time are now revealed in their full splendor. Examining the role of natural and man-made disasters, rulers and their hostile neighbors, and the fate of cities built to celebrate religious beliefs,...Read more

Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 02:17

Author(s):
Ray Hoy

Ray Hoy is one of the dwindling number of so-called Atomic Soldiers who provided support for the nuclear bomb tests at Camp Desert Rock, Nevada in the 1950s. While there he began writing letters to his late father, describing the awe-...Read more

Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 02:14

Author(s):
Ahmed Osman

A reinterpretation of Egyptian and biblical history that shows the Patriarch Joseph and Yuya, a vizier of the eighteenth dynasty king Tuthmosis IV, to be the same person

• Uses detailed evidence from Egyptian, biblical, and...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:27

Author(s):
Rodney Stark

It always seems counterintuitive to moderns that warfare and religion can be consistent. Ideally, followers of the prince of peace are to avoid the sword and shield. Clearly, this has not always been the case. Frequently in the...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:22

Author(s):
Edred Thorsson

Runes are the ancient Norse alphabet used for communication, divination, and magical work. In Futhark, American runologist Edred Thorsson introduces readers to the 24 runes of the Elder Futhark, their definitions, and mystic properties...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:18

Author(s):
Benjamin Madley

Between 1846 and 1873, California’s Indian population plunged from perhaps 150,000 to 30,000. Benjamin Madley is the first historian to uncover the full extent of the slaughter, the involvement of state and federal officials, the...Read more

Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 00:14

Author(s):
Jim Willis

Where do we come from? What are the origins of modern civilization? Do the world's pyramids, the Nazca Lines, Easter Island statues, and other enigmatic structures, archaeological wonders, and geographic anomalies contain evidence of...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 04:18

Author(s):
Anthony Adolph

Just who did the British think they were? For much of the last 1,500 years, when the British looked back to their origins they saw the looming mythological figure of Brutus of Troy. A great-great-grandson of the love goddess Aphrodite...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:15

Author(s):
Russell M. Stendal

The Book of Daniel is a study, a commentary of the book of Daniel in the Bible. Each verse and each sentence is dissected to unveil great prophesies which are coming to fruition today. It cannot be over-emphasized how relevant this book...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:14

Author(s):
Huston Smith

Retaining all the beloved qualities of Huston Smith's classic The Religions of Man and the current fully revised and updated The World's Religions, this stunning pictorial presentation refines the text to its wonderful essentials. In...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:13

Author(s):
Louis S. Warren

In 1890, on Indian reservations across the West, followers of a new religion danced in circles until they collapsed into trances. In an attempt to suppress this new faith, the US Army killed over two hundred Lakota Sioux at Wounded Knee...Read more

Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 00:12

Author(s):
Peter Stark

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast....Read more

Pages

Human Origins

Map of sites and postulated migratory pathways associated with modern humans dispersing across Asia during the Late Pleistocene.
Most people are now familiar with the traditional "Out of Africa" model: modern humans evolved in Africa and then dispersed across Asia and reached Australia in a single wave about 60,000 years ago. However, technological advances in DNA analysis and other fossil identification techniques, as well as an emphasis on multidisciplinary research

Ancient Technology

The School of Athens
Much of modern science was known in ancient times. Robots and computers were a reality long before the 1940´s. The early Bronze Age inhabitants of the Levant used computers in stone, the Greeks in the 2nd century BC invented an analogue computer known as the Antikythera mechanism. An ancient Hindu book gives detailed instructions for the construction of an aircraft –ages before the Wright brothers. Where did such knowledge come from?

Ancient Places

Our Mission

At Ancient Origins, we believe that one of the most important fields of knowledge we can pursue as human beings is our beginnings. And while some people may seem content with the story as it stands, our view is that there exists countless mysteries, scientific anomalies and surprising artifacts that have yet to be discovered and explained.

The goal of Ancient Origins is to highlight recent archaeological discoveries, peer-reviewed academic research and evidence, as well as offering alternative viewpoints and explanations of science, archaeology, mythology, religion and history around the globe.

We’re the only Pop Archaeology site combining scientific research with out-of-the-box perspectives.

By bringing together top experts and authors, this archaeology website explores lost civilizations, examines sacred writings, tours ancient places, investigates ancient discoveries and questions mysterious happenings. Our open community is dedicated to digging into the origins of our species on planet earth, and question wherever the discoveries might take us. We seek to retell the story of our beginnings. 

Ancient Image Galleries

View from the Castle Gate (Burgtor). (Public Domain)
Door surrounded by roots of Tetrameles nudiflora in the Khmer temple of Ta Phrom, Angkor temple complex, located today in Cambodia. (CC BY-SA 3.0)
Cable car in the Xihai (West Sea) Grand Canyon (CC BY-SA 4.0)